Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Halladay Wins NL Cy Young

From Todd Zolecki:
The Baseball Writers' Association of America named Halladay the National League Cy Young Award winner on Tuesday, making him the fifth pitcher to win a Cy Young in each league. Halladay, who won the 2003 American League Cy Young Award while pitching for the Blue Jays, joined Gaylord Perry, Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson and Roger Clemens as a dual-league winner.

He was a unanimous choice of the voters, receiving all 32 first-place votes for 224 points. Adam Wainwright of the Cardinals received 28 second-place votes to finish with 122 points. The Rockies' Ubaldo Jimenez was third with 90 points, which included four second-place votes. Atlanta's Tim Hudson was fourth, Florida's Josh Johnson was fifth and Philadelphia's Roy Oswalt was sixth.

Halladay, the 13th unanimous selection in the 44-year history of NL Cy Young voting, became the fourth pitcher in Phillies history to win the award, joining four-time winner Steve Carlton (1972, '77, '80 and '82), John Denny ('83) and Steve Bedrosian ('87).

Halladay went 21-10 with a 2.44 ERA in 33 starts. He led the league in wins, complete games (nine), shutouts (four) and innings pitched (250 2/3). He became just the 20th pitcher in Major Legaue history to throw a perfect game when he accomplished the feat on May 29 against the Florida Marlins at Sun Life Stadium in Miami.
No arguments here.

I'm just glad he's in the other league now.

blog comments powered by Disqus